
Apprentice Ophthalmic Dispenser License Renewal Instructions 
 

Complete Renewal Application and Fee Is Due by January 31, 2014 
Please complete this form online, then print, sign, and mail it with the $50 renewal fee and proof of career progression to 
the board at the address on the application. If your application is postmarked after January 31, 2014, your license 
becomes delinquent, and it is illegal for you to engage in ophthalmic dispensing. The renewal fee for a delinquent 
apprentice license is $150. 
  
Please note: The Board will not renew the delinquent license of an apprentice optician who does not apply for renewal 
and submit fees before March 1, 2014. 

 
You Must Submit Proof of Career Progression with Your Renewal Application 

To qualify for license renewal, you must include with your renewal application proof that you have completed one or 
more of these requirements during the previous year: 
 
For apprentices who have been licensed at least six months and have not yet completed an educational program on 
ophthalmic dispensing: 
• Progress in a board-approved optical theory course (completion of at least one college course, or one volume of a 

home study program). 
• Successful completion of a contact lens theory course in one of these two board-approved programs: College of 

Southern Nevada (CSN) certificate program, or Contact Lens Society of America (CLSA) home-study program 
(vols. 1 and II with credits).  

 
For apprentices who have been licensed at least six months and have completed an educational program on ophthalmic 
dispensing: 
• Successful completion of at least 100 hours of training and experience in the fitting and filling of prescriptions for 

contact lenses under the direct supervision of a dual-licensed dispensing optician, or a licensed ophthalmologist or 
optometrist.  Training must be documented on a contact lens training record. 

• Taking and/or passing the examination of the American Board of Opticianry (ABO).  
• Taking and/or passing the Contact Lens Registry Examination of the National Contact Lens Examiners (NCLE).  
• Taking and/or passing the board’s examination for a license as a dispensing optician OR, in the case of apprentices 

who have completed all the above requirements but do not yet have the experience required to qualify for the 
board’s examination, successful completion of at least 14 hours of continuing education (see NAC 637.295). 

 
Failure to Show Progression Results in Non-Renewal and Possible Disciplinary Action 

If you fail to provide proof of continuing progress toward meeting these requirements (career progression), the board will 
not renew your license, and will forward a complaint to the Nevada Attorney General’s Office for further action. 
 

Change of Supervisors and Addresses 
You are required by law to notify the board office any time you change supervisors and/or employers. You and your 
supervisor must complete and submit to the Board a Change of Apprentice Supervisor Form or Chart of Apprentice 
Supervision (available on the Board’s website) within 10 days of the change. You must also notify the Board in writing 
(email, letter, or fax) within 10 days of any change of business address or contact information, and within 30 days of any 
change of home address or contact information. 
 

Questions? 
If you have any questions regarding the renewal process or your apprenticeship, please contact: 

Nevada Board of Dispensing Opticians 
nvbdo@govmail.state.nv.us (email) 775-688-3766 (telephone) 775-688-3767 (fax) 

 

  
 

  

 

 
 

  
  

  
  

   
   

 
  

  
   

 
STATE OF NEVADA  
BOARD OF DISPENSING OPTICIANS 
4600 Kietzke Lane, B-116, Reno, NV 89502-5036 • Telephone 775 / 688-3766 • Fax 775 / 688-3767 
Email:  nvbdo@govmail.state.nv.us • Website: www.nvbdo.nv.us 
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Apprentice Ophthalmic Dispenser License 
Renewal Application 

 
Please complete this form online, then print, sign, and mail your complete application, proof of career 
progression, and renewal fee of $50 no later than January 31, 2014.  Make your check or money order 
payable to: Nevada Board of Dispensing Opticians, and mail it to: 4600 Kietzke Lane, B-116; Reno, NV 89502-
5036.  
 
To qualify for license renewal, you must fill out this form completely. Do not leave blank spaces.  If you are 
omitting any information, use the space(s) to indicate a reason for the omission. Please star (*) any information 
that has changed since your previous renewal.  
 
Name (as it appears on your license) ______________________________________________ Lic. #_______ 
 
Home address _______________________________________City________________State___ Zip_______ 
 
Home phone #________________Mobile phone #________________Email___________________________ 
 
*Business/Employer Name _______________________________________Phone _____________________ 
 
Business address _______________________________________City _____________ State ___ Zip______ 
 
Hours worked per week _____Ophthalmic manager name_________________________________Lic.#_____ 
 
Primary supv 1_________________________Lic.#_____Primary supv 2______________________Lic.#____ 
 
Sub supv 1____________________________Lic.#_____Sub supv 2_________________________Lic.#____ 

 
*If you have more than one location/employer, please complete and submit the second page of this application. 
 

Application Screening Questions 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
I have enclosed proof I completed the following career progression requirement(s) in 2013: 
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
I affirm (swear) that I have read this form and the statements made are true and correct:* 
Your signature ___________________________________________________Date_________________ 
 
*The Board reserves the right to verify any and all information provided on this form as it deems necessary. Providing 
false or misleading information to the Board may be grounds for disciplinary action pursuant to NRS Chapter 637 and/or 
NAC Chapter 637.  

Social Security # (must be provided per NRS 637.113): __________________________ 
 
Nevada Business License # (must provide only if you own an optical business): ______________________ 
 
Yes     No     I am subject to a court order that requires me to pay for the support of one or more children.  
Yes     No    N/A      I am in compliance with that court order. If you answered “no” to the above question, mark 
N/A. 
 
Yes     No    Has your occupational or professional license or privilege to practice, or certification/registration of any 
kind ever had any disciplinary action taken or initiated against it in any jurisdiction?  Does not include driver's license or 
car registration. 
 
Yes    No    Have you ever had a criminal conviction, whether misdemeanor or felony, or a civil judgment rendered 
against you?  Does not include minor traffic violations.  
 
*If you answered yes to any of the above screening questions, please attach a written explanation. 
 
 

              



 

Apprentice Ophthalmic Dispenser License 
Renewal Application 

Page 2 
 

Additional Employer(s) or Business(s) 
If you work at more than one location, or have more than one employer, please complete the 

information on this page and attach it to your renewal application. 
 

 
 
Business/Employer Name ______________________________________ Phone: ____________________ 
 
Business address: _____________________________________City _____________ State ___ Zip______  
 
Hours worked per week: _____________ Ophthalmic manager ___________________________ Lic. #_____ 
 
Primary supv.________________________ Lic. # ____ Opt.sub.supv._____________________ Lic. #_____ 
 
Contact Lens supv. ___________________ Lic. # ____ CL sub. supv. ____________________ Lic. # ____ 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Business/Employer Name ______________________________________ Phone: ____________________ 
 
Business address: _____________________________________City _____________ State ___ Zip______  
 
Hours worked per week: _____________ Ophthalmic manager ___________________________ Lic. #_____ 
 
Optical supv.________________________ Lic. # ____ Opt.sub.supv._____________________ Lic. #_____ 
 
Contact Lens supv. ___________________ Lic. # ____ CL sub. supv. ____________________ Lic. # ____ 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Business/Employer Name ______________________________________ Phone: ____________________ 
 
Business address: _____________________________________City _____________ State ___ Zip______  
 
Hours worked per week: _____________ Ophthalmic manager ___________________________ Lic. #_____ 
 
Optical supv.________________________ Lic. # ____ Opt.sub.supv._____________________ Lic. #_____ 
 
Contact Lens supv. ___________________ Lic. # ____ CL sub. supv. ____________________ Lic. # ____ 
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