

# STATE OF NEVADA BOARD OF DISPENSING OPTICIANS

4600 Kietzke Lane, B-116, Reno, NV 89502-5036 • Telephone 775 / 688-3766 • Fax 775 / 688-3767 Email: nvbdo@govmail.state.nv.us • Website: www.nvbdo.nv.us

### Ophthalmic Dispenser License Renewal Application Instructions

#### Complete Renewal Application, Fee, and CECs Are Due by January 31, 2014

Please complete the application form online, then print, sign, and mail it with your renewal fee and continuing education credits (CECs), earned during 2013, to the board at the address on this application. If your application is postmarked after January 31, 2014, your license becomes delinquent and it is illegal for you to engage in ophthalmic dispensing.

#### **Ophthalmic Dispenser License Renewal Requirements**

- Completed application
- Fee: \$300
- 14 units of board-approved continuing education credits, including at least seven (7) contact lens and seven (7) in-class credits. The board office must receive both proof of attendance and completed CEC chart (see final pages of application).\*
- Delinquency fee: \$300 (total fee for renewal of delinquent license: \$600)

Please note: It is against state law to practice ophthalmic dispensing without an active Nevada license.

\*If you passed your optical exam or the exam to upgrade to an ophthalmic license in March or September of this year, you do not need to provide continuing education credits until next year's renewal.

#### **Limited License Renewal Requirements**

- Completed application
- Fee: \$200 (\$250 if you also hold an apprentice license in order to complete the contact lens requirements for license upgrade)
- 12 units of board-approved continuing education credits, including at least six (6) contact lens credits and six (6) in-class credits. The board office must receive both proof of attendance and completed CEC chart (see final pages of application).
- Delinquency fee: \$200 (total fee for renewal of delinquent license: \$400)

**Please note:** It is against state law to practice ophthalmic dispensing without an active Nevada license.

#### **Change of Apprentices and Addresses**

You are required by law to notify the board office any time you change supervision of apprentices and/or employers. You and your apprentice(s) must complete and submit to the board a *Change of Apprentice Supervisor Form* or *Chart of Apprentice Supervision* (available on the board's website) within 10 days of the change. You must also notify the board in writing (email, letter, or fax) of any change of employer address or contact information, within 10 days, and of any change of home address or contact information, within 30 days.

#### Questions?

If you have any questions regarding the renewal process or your licensure, please contact:

Nevada Board of Dispensing Opticians nvbdo@govmail.state.nv.us (email) 775-688-3766 (telephone) 775-688-3767 (fax)

# **Licensed Ophthalmic Dispenser Renewal Application**

Please complete this form online, then print, sign, and mail your complete application, renewal fee, and CECs no later than January 31, 2014. Make your check or money order payable to the Nevada Board of Dispensing Opticians and mail it to 4600 Kietzke Lane, B-116, Reno, NV 89502-5036.

To qualify for license renewal, you must fill out this form completely. Do not leave blank spaces. If you are omitting any information, use the space(s) to indicate a reason for the omission. Please star (\*) any information that has changed since your previous renewal.

Name (as it appears on y	our license)	<del></del>		Lic #
Home address		City	State	Zip
Home phone #	Mobile phone #	Email		
*Business/Employer Nan	ne	Phone		
Business address		City	State	Zip
Hours work per week	Ophthalmic manager name			Lic #
substitute). Please note:	pers of apprentices you supervise You may be supervisor of record no more than two apprentices (four es at any one time.	for no more than two ap	prentices, a	nd substitute
Apprentice Name		Lic#	Prima	rv Sub
Apprentice Name		 Lic #	 Prima	ry Sub
Social Security # (must be r	Application Screeni provided per NRS 637.113):			
	t (must provide only if you own an opt			
	ct to a court order that requires me to am in compliance with that court orde			
	ccupational or professional license or ry action taken or initiated against it ir			
Yes □ No □ Have you evagainst you? Does not include	ver had a criminal conviction, whether ude minor traffic violations.	misdemeanor or felony, or	a civil judgm	ent rendered
*If you answered yes to ar	ny of the above screening question	s, please attach a written	explanation	i <b>.</b>
I affirm (swear) that I have	ve read this form and the statement	s made are true and corre	ect:*	
	tht to verify any and all information protection to the Board may be grounds for	ovided on this form as it de		ry. Providing

NAC Chapter 637.

## Licensed Ophthalmic Dispenser Renewal Application Page 2

#### Additional Employer(s) or Business(es)

If you work at more than one location, or have more than one employer, please complete the information on this page and attach it to your renewal application.

Business/Employer Name	Pr	none
Business address	City	State Zip
Hours work per weekOphthalmic manager name		Lic #
*Names and license numbers of apprentices you supervise a	at this location, include t	ne type of supervision
(primary or substitute supervisor).		
Apprentice Name	Lic #	Primary Sub
Apprentice Name		
Apprentice Name		
Apprentice Name		
Business/Employer Name	Pr	none
Business address	City	State Zip
Hours work per weekOphthalmic manager name		Lic #
*Names and license numbers of apprentices you supervise a (primary or substitute supervisor).		
Apprentice Name		
Apprentice Name		
Apprentice Name	Lic #	Primary Sub _
Apprentice Name	Lic #	Primary Sub _
Business/Employer Name	Pr	none
Business address	City	State Zip
Hours work per weekOphthalmic manager name		Lic #
*Names and license numbers of apprentices you supervise a (primary or substitute supervisor).	at this location, include the	ne type of supervision
Apprentice Name	Lic #	Primary Sub _
Apprentice Name	Lic #	Primary Sub _
Apprentice Name		
Annrentice Name		

\*Please note: You may be supervisor of record for a total of no more than two apprentices, and substitute supervisor of record for a total of no more than two apprentices. You may not directly supervise more than two apprentices at any one time.

Name:	Oph	thalmic Dispens	ser License Renewal Irned in with your ren		n)	
*2013 Rollover Credits (F	Please enter the nu	mber of CE cred	its you are rolling over	from your 2013	renewal):	
In-class contact lens	, Online/magazin	e contact lens	, In-class spectac	ele, Online	e/magazine specta	acle
<b>2014 Renewal Credits</b> : P for next year's renewal – I			to apply to your <b>2014</b>	Renewal. Do no	ot list credits you v	vant to roll over
Course Tit	tle	Date	School/Company		Contact Lens Credit □	In-class Credit □
2.						
3.						
4						
5						
6						
7						
8						
9						
10						
11						
12						
13						
14						
*Please note the following  Of the 14 CECs require  A maximum of 7 credit	ed for renewal, 7 mess for attending boar	ust be contact le d meetings may	be applied to your ren	be in-class cred ewal (only 4 may	its. y be applied for co	entact lens credit).
For Board Office Use Only: Date Received			es:			

Course	Title	Date	credits you wish to roll o School/Company	# of Credits	Contact Lens Credit	In-class Credit
	ns, Online/ma		Rollover CE Credits (to		,	
	ns, Online/ma		·		,	
	ns, Online/ma		·		,	
	ns, Online/ma		·		,	
	ns, Online/ma		·		,	
	ns, Online/ma		·		,	
	ns, Online/ma		·		,	
	ns, Online/ma		·		,	
	ns, Online/ma		·		,	