5565 Wedgewood Circle, Sparks, NV 89436-3716 • Telephone 775 / 853-1421 • Fax 775 / 853-1408 Email: nvbdo@govmail.state.nv.us • website: www.opticalboard.state.nv.us

Apprentice Optician (Apprentice Ophthalmic Dispenser)

Opticians licensed in Nevada are specialized health care practitioners who design, make, fit, and dispense prescription spectacle and contact lenses for the correction of a person's vision.

A person who wishes to become a professional, licensed optician (ophthalmic dispenser) in Nevada does so through a combination of on-the-job training (apprenticeship) and education.

Individuals must apply for an apprentice license, which includes a fee of \$100. The Nevada Board of Dispensing Opticians reviews and votes whether to approve apprentice applications at its bimonthly public meetings. The application and schedule of meetings can be found at the Board's website: www.opticalboard.state.nv.us.

Once the Board approves and issues an apprentice license, it must be renewed every year before January 31. The renewal fee is \$50.

All licensed apprentices must follow the laws and regulations that govern the practice of opticianry. These include the following requirements:

Proof of Enrollment In Optical Education Program

Nevada state law requires newly licensed apprentices to provide the Board, within 90 days of licensure, proof of enrollment in:

A Board-approved course of study in a school which offers a degree of associate of applied science for studies in ophthalmic dispensing. If you choose this option, you are required to complete <u>one year of apprenticeship</u> and at least 1,000 hours of on-the-job training. One program has Board pre-approval:

• The CSN Associate of Applied Science in Ophthalmic Dispensing (available to all Nevada residents via distance education) 702-651-5834 http://sites.csn.edu/health/overview-ophthalmic.html

OR

A Board-approved educational program on the theory of ophthalmic dispensing, which includes both optical and contact lens theory. If you choose this option, you are required to complete three years of apprenticeship and at least 2,000 hours of on-the-job training. These programs have Board pre-approval:

For the optical theory portion:

- National Academy of Opticianry (NAO) home-study Career Progression Program 800-229-4828 <u>www.nao.org_plus</u>
- College of Southern Nevada (CSN) ophthalmic dispensing certificate of completion (available to all Nevada residents via distance education) 702-651-5834 http://sites.csn.edu/health/overview-ophthalmic.html

For the contact lens theory portion

- College of Southern Nevada (CSN) contact lens technician certificate of completion (available to all Nevada residents via distance education) 702-651-5834 http://sites.csn.edu/health/overview-ophthalmic.html
- Contact Lens Society of America (CLSA) home-study program (vols. 1 and II with credits) 800-296-9776 http://www.clsa.info.

Proof of Apprentice Career Progression Required for License Renewal

In addition to enrolling in an educational program, licensed apprentices are required by Nevada law to meet all the requirements listed below during their apprenticeship. To qualify for license renewal each January, apprentices must provide proof that they have made progress toward completing one or more of these requirements during the previous year:

For apprentices who have been licensed at least six months and have not yet completed an educational program on ophthalmic dispensing:

- Make continued progress in a Board-approved optical theory course (complete at least one college course, or one volume of a home study program)
- Successfully complete a contact lens theory course in one of these two Board-approved programs: College of Southern Nevada (CSN) certificate program, or Contact Lens Society of America (CLSA) home-study program (vols. 1 and II with credits) 800-296-9776
 http://www.clsa.info.

For apprentices who have been licensed at least six months and have completed an educational program on ophthalmic dispensing:

- Successfully complete at least 100 hours of training and experience in the fitting of and filling of prescriptions for contact lenses under the direct supervision of a dual licensed dispensing optician, or a licensed ophthalmologist or optometrist. *Documented on contact lens training record*.
- Pass the examination of the American Board of Opticianry (ABO) 703-719-5800 http://www.abo-ncle.org/
- Pass the Contact Lens Registry Examination of the National Contact Lens Examiners (NCLE)
 - 703-719-5800 http://www.abo-ncle.org/
- Taking and/or passing the Board's examination for a license as a dispensing optician OR in the case of apprentices who have completed all the above requirements but do not yet have the experience required to qualify for the Board's examination for a license as a dispensing optician, successful completion of at least 14 hours of continuing education (see NAC 637.295).

Nevada State Ophthalmic Dispenser Examination

Once apprentices have met all requirements, they are eligible to apply for the state optical examination. Those who achieve a passing score of 70 percent or higher are issued Nevada ophthalmic dispenser licenses, which allow them to independently dispense spectacles and contact lenses.

Examination Percentages

- 1. Neutralization (contacts/glasses) 30%
- 2. Optical Theory (contacts/glasses) 15%
- 3. Dispensing (glasses) 10%

4.	Nevada law	15%
5.	Anatomy-Physiology/Slides	15%
6.	Lens ID	5%
7.	Instrumentation	10%

For More Information

For an apprentice application, schedule of Board meetings, and licensure information, please visit www.opticalboard.state.nv.us.

Questions?

You may contact the Board office via mail, fax, email, or telephone:

State of Nevada Board of Dispensing Opticians 5565 Wedgewood Circle, Sparks, NV 89436-3716

Telephone: (775) 853-1421

Fax: (775) 853-1408

Email: nvbdo@govmail.state.nv.us