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Nevada Ophthalmic Dispenser License Application 

Instructions 

Nevada Apprentices must pass all certifying exams (Basic, Advanced, and Practical) of the 
American Board of Opticianry and National Contact Lens Examiners and the Nevada Law and 
Ethics Exam in order to obtain their Ophthalmic Dispenser Licenses. The ABO exams may be taken at 
any time during your apprenticeship. To register, contact the ABO and provide your name and license 
number. Once your apprenticeship requirements are complete, complete this form and submit it to 
the Board office along with all requisite materials listed below (mail only; please do not fax or email 
documents to the Board). 

Once you have passed your ABO/NCLE qualifying exams, you will be issued the (open-book) Nevada 
Law and Ethics Exam by mail. Complete the exam and certification page and return it to the board office 
to complete your licensing requirements. 

Checklist 

 Complete application form: An incomplete application will be returned to you.  

 Copy of birth certificate or other proof you are a U.S. citizen or lawfully entitled to work in the U.S. 

 Copy of high school diploma or GED certificate 

 Copy of degree certificate for AAS in Ophthalmic Dispensing or Certificates of Completion for board-approved 
distance education programs (ophthalmic and contact lens) 

 Official transcript mailed directly to the board office by your school (if applicable) 

 Copies of ABO Basic, Advanced, and Practical Certifications (current) 

 Copies of NCLE Basic, Advanced, and Practical Certification (current) 

 Contact Lens Training Record: 100 hours documented contact lens training, including dates, times, and 
signatures of supervisor(s) and/or licensed individual(s) who provided training 

 Three letters of reference (at least one from a person who has worked in the optical field with you) mailed 
directly to the board office by your references 

 Check or money order for $100 application fee (nonrefundable), payable to: Nevada Board of Dispensing 
Opticians 
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PERSONAL INFORMATION 

Full Name (first, m, last): ______________________________________________________________________________________________________  

Social Security #:______________________________ Birthdate: _______________________ Birthplace: ________________________________ 

Home Address: ____________________________________________________ City: ______________________ State: ______ Zip: ______________ 

Cell Phone: _______________________________ Home Phone: ______________________________ Email: ________________________________ 

High School: __________________________________ Location: ______________________________ Grad/GED Date: ____________________* 

SCREENING QUESTIONS 

1. Do you currently or have you previously held a Nevada Apprentice Dispenser License or Nevada
Ophthalmic Dispenser License?
Yes ☐ No☐
If yes, please provide the license number(s): _______________________ and dates held: ______________________________

2. Are you a citizen of the United States?
Yes ☐ No ☐   If not, you must provide proof (such as a copy of a current Worker Visa) that you are lawfully
entitled to remain and work in the U.S.

3. Have you ever served in the United States military?
Yes ☐ No ☐
Branch(es) of service:____________________________________________________ Dates of Service: ______________________________

4. Are you subject to a court order that requires you to pay for the support of one or more children?
Yes ☐ No ☐
Are you in compliance with that order? If you answered “no” to the above question, mark N/A.
N/A ☐ Yes ☐ No ☐

5. Nevada Business License # (must be provided if you own an optical business): ___________________________________

If you answer yes to either of the screening questions below, you must attach a written explanation: 
6. Have you ever had disciplinary action taken against your occupational or professional license or privilege to

practice, or certification/registration of any kind (other than your driver's license or vehicle registration) or 
surrendered a professional license in any jurisdiction? 
Yes ☐ No ☐

7. Have you ever had a criminal conviction (other than a minor traffic violation), whether misdemeanor or felony,
or a civil judgment rendered against you in any jurisdiction?
Yes ☐ No ☐
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EDUCATION AND TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

 I have an AAS Degree in Ophthalmic Dispensing and at least one year of dispensing experience 
(including at least 1,000 hours of work at the fitting table and in the laboratory) under the supervision 
of a licensed optician, optometrist, or ophthalmologist. 

OR 
 I have completed Board-approved ophthalmic and contact lens theory distance/home-study programs 

and have at least three years of dispensing experience (including at least 2,000 hours of work at the 
fitting table and in the laboratory) under the supervision of a licensed optician, optometrist, or 
ophthalmologist. 

List all optical employers, beginning with the most recent. Attach additional pages as needed. 

Employer Name _________________________________________ Primary Supervisor _________________________________ Lic. # _______ 

Address ________________________________________________ City _______________________________ State __________ Zip ________________ 

Telephone __________________________ Dates of employment: (from) ____________ (to) ____________ Hours/week   ___________ 

Description of specific training and/or duties: 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Employer Name _________________________________________ Primary Supervisor _________________________________ Lic. # _______ 

Address ________________________________________________ City _______________________________ State __________ Zip ________________ 

Telephone __________________________ Dates of employment: (from) ____________ (to) ____________ Hours/week   ___________ 

Description of specific training and/or duties: 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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Employer Name _________________________________________ Primary Supervisor _________________________________ Lic. # _______ 

Address ________________________________________________ City _______________________________ State __________ Zip ________________ 

Telephone __________________________ Dates of employment: (from) ____________ (to) ____________ Hours/week   ___________ 

Description of specific training and/or duties: 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

If you have not obtained the requisite years/hours of training during your current apprenticeship, you 
may apply for prior experience credit with the Board. The Board will grant up to three years of credit for 
experience gained during a previous Nevada apprenticeship and up to two years of credit for experience 
gained outside of a Nevada apprenticeship (e.g. while working under a doctor’s license or working in 
another state). To obtain credit, you must complete the Prior Experience Credit Application (available 
on the Board’s website). Your application will reviewed by the Board at a public meeting.  

Are you submitting an application for prior experience credit along with this application? 

Yes   ☐  No   ☐ 

AFFIRMATION 

I, ____________________________________________ (applicant) affirm that all representations I have made in this 
application are true and complete in every respect. I hereby authorize the Nevada Board of Dispensing 
Opticians to make inquiries as it deems necessary to verify the accuracy and completeness of all 
representations I have made as part of my application.* ** 

Signature _____________________________________________________________________ Date ___________________________ 

*Your signature affirms you have reviewed, understand, and will fully comply with the provisions of Chapter 637 of the
Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) and Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) that govern the practice of an apprentice 
optician (these laws and regulations are available on the Board’s website: www.nvbdo.nv.us). 

**Per Nevada Open Meeting Law provision NRS 241.033(l)(a) and (b), you must receive notice of the time and place of 
the meeting during which the Board will consider your application. The notice must be served personally to you at 
least 5 working days, or via certified mail at least 21 working days, before the meeting date. By signing this 
application, you agree to waive your legal right to such notice, and to allow the board to review any and all portions of 
this application at its next regularly scheduled board meeting. 
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