# STATE OF NEVADA BOARD OF DISPENSING OPTICIANS

4790 Caughlin Pkwy. #241; Reno, NV 89519 • Telephone 775 / 689-0132 Email: info@nvopticians.org • Website: www.nvbdo.nv.gov

#### **Nevada Ophthalmic Dispenser License Application**

#### **Instructions**

Nevada apprentices who have completed their apprenticeship requirements must pass the ABO and NCLE Advanced and Practical Exams and a Nevada Law and Ethics Exam in order to obtain their Ophthalmic Dispenser Licenses. To qualify for these exams, complete this form and submit it to the Board office along with all requisite materials listed below (mail only; please do not fax or email documents to the Board).

Once your application is complete, the Board will notify the American Board of Opticianry of your qualification to take the ABO/NCLE Advanced and Practical exams. You must submit this application and all attendant materials at least 30 days prior to the date you plan to *register* to take your exams. Once you have passed your ABO exams, you will be issued the Nevada Law and Ethics Exam by mail. The exam, which is open-book, must be completed and submitted to the Board before you will be issued a license.

#### Checklist

Complete application form: An incomplete application will be returned to you.
Copy of birth certificate or other proof you are a U.S. citizen or lawfully entitled to work in the U.S.
Copy of high school diploma or GED certificate
Copy of degree certificate for AAS in Ophthalmic Dispensing <b>or</b> Certificates of Completion for board-approved distance education programs (ophthalmic and contact lens)
Official transcript mailed directly to the board office by your school (if applicable)
Copy of ABO Standard Certification (current)
Copy of NCLE Standard Certification (current)
Contact Lens Training Record: 100 hours documented contact lens training, including dates, times, and signatures of supervisor(s) and/or licensed individual(s) who provided training
Three letters of reference (at least one from a person who has worked in the optical field with you) <b>mailed directly to the board office by your references</b>
Check or money order for \$100 application fee (nonrefundable), payable to: Nevada Board of Dispensing Opticians

# **Nevada Ophthalmic Dispenser License Application - Page 1**

### PERSONAL INFORMATION

Fu	ıll Name (first, m, last):					
Social Security #:		Birthdate:	Birthplace: _			
		C	ity: S	tate:	Zip:	
Ce	ll Phone:	Home Phone:	Email: _			
High School:		Location:	Grad/GED Date:		*	
		SCREENING QUE	STIONS			
1.	<ul> <li>Do you currently or have you previously held a Nevada Apprentice Dispenser License or Nevada Ophthalmic Dispenser License?</li> <li>Yes □ No□</li> <li>If yes, please provide the license number(s): and dates held:</li> </ul>					
	If yes, please provide the li	cense number(s):	and dates held:			
2.	Are you a citizen of the U Yes □ No □ If not, you mu entitled to remain and wor	ıst provide proof (such as a copy o	of a current Worker Visa) (	that you	are lawfully	
3.	Yes □ No □	the United States military?	Dates of Sorvice			
4.	Yes □ No □	t order that requires you to pa				
5.	Nevada Business License # (must be provided <u>if you own an optical business</u> ):					
If	vou answer ves to either o	f the screening questions below	w, vou must attach a wr	itten ex	planation:	
	Have you ever had discipli practice, or certification/r	nary action taken against your or egistration of any kind (other tha l license in any jurisdiction?	ccupational or profession	al licens	se or privilege to	
7.	_	nal conviction (other than a mino ed against you in any jurisdiction		er misd	emeanor or felony,	

## Nevada Ophthalmic Dispenser License Application - Page 2

### EDUCATION AND TRAINING REQUIREMENTS

(including at least	☐ I have an AAS Degree in Ophthalmic Dispensing and at least <b>one year</b> of dispensing experience (including at least <b>1,000 hours</b> of work at the fitting table and in the laboratory) under the supervisio of a licensed optician, optometrist, or ophthalmologist.							
OR								
I have completed Board-approved ophthalmic and contact lens theory distance/home-study pr and have at least <b>three years</b> of dispensing experience (including at least <b>3,000 hours</b> of work fitting table and in the laboratory) under the supervision of a licensed optician, optometrist, or ophthalmologist.								
List all optical employers	, beginning with the most recent. Attach ad	lditional pages a	s needed.					
Employer Name	Primary Superviso	r	Lic. #					
Address	City	State _	Zip					
Telephone	Dates of employment: (from)	(to)	Hours/week					
Description of specific tra	ining and/or duties:							
	ining and/or duties: Primary Superviso	r	Lic. #					
Employer Name	Primary Superviso	State _	Zip					
Employer Name	Primary Superviso City Dates of employment: (from)	State _	Zip					
Employer Name  Address  Telephone	Primary Superviso City Dates of employment: (from)	State _	Zip					
Employer Name  Address  Telephone	Primary Superviso City Dates of employment: (from)	State _	Zip					

#### Nevada Ophthalmic Dispenser License Application - Page 3

Employer Name	Primary Supervisor		Lic. #
Address	City	State	eZip
Telephone	Dates of employment: (from)	(to)	Hours/week
Description of specific tr	raining and/or duties:		
may apply for prior experience gained duri gained outside of a Nevanother state). To obta	d the requisite years/hours of training duperience credit with the Board. The Board of the Board	d will grant up to d up to two years inder a doctor's l <b>xperience Credi</b>	three years of credit for of credit for experience icense or working in <b>t Application</b> (available
Are you submitting ar	n application for prior experience cred	lit along with th	is application?
Yes □ No □			
	<u>AFFIRMATION</u>		
application are true and Opticians to make inqu	(applicant) affirm that d complete in every respect. I hereby aut iries as it deems necessary to verify the a made as part of my application.* **	horize the Nevad	la Board of Dispensing
Signature		Date	
*Your signature affirms yo	ou have reviewed, understand, and will fully c (NRS) and Nevada Administrative Code (NAC)	omply with the pro	visions of Chapter 637 of th

optician (these laws and regulations are available on the Board's website: www.nvbdo.nv.us).

<sup>\*\*</sup>Per Nevada Open Meeting Law provision NRS 241.033(l)(a) and (b), you must receive notice of the time and place of the meeting during which the Board will consider your application. The notice must be served personally to you at least 5 working days, or via certified mail at least 21 working days, before the meeting date. By signing this application, you agree to waive your legal right to such notice, and to allow the board to review any and all portions of this application at its next regularly scheduled board meeting.