# Nevada Ophthalmic Apprenticeship Program Requirements

Nevada Dispensing Opticians are licensed health care practitioners who design, make, fit, and dispense prescription spectacle and contact lenses for the correction of a person's vision. To become a licensed Dispensing Optician, you must first obtain an Apprentice License and complete a combination of on-the-job training (apprenticeship) and education. Apprentices have *three (annual) license renewal cycles* to complete all the following apprenticeship requirements:

## Education/Training Requirements

Apprentices have the choice of two education/training tracks:

- 1) **One year-apprenticeship** requirements:
  - One year of on-the-job training comprising at least 1,000 hours of work at the fitting table and in preparing laboratory orders, verifying processed work from the laboratory and the performance of other duties related to ophthalmic dispensing
  - Degree of Associate of Applied Sciences for Studies in Ophthalmic Dispensing

## Pre-approved education program:

College of Southern Nevada AAS Degree Program for Ophthalmic Dispensing (available to all Nevada residents via distance education) <u>https://www.csn.edu/programs/ophthalmic-tech</u>

- 2) **Two-year apprenticeship** requirements:
  - Two years of on-the-job training comprising at least 2,000 hours of work at the fitting table and in preparing laboratory orders, verifying processed work from the laboratory and the performance of other duties related to ophthalmic dispensing
  - Ophthalmic Dispensing and Contact Lens Dispensing home-study or certificate programs

## **Pre-approved education programs:**

Ophthalmic dispensing portion:

- National Academy of Opticianry (NAO) Career Progression Program (home-study) <u>https://www.nao.org/cpp/</u> OR
- College of Southern Nevada (CSN) Ophthalmic Dispensing Certificate Program (available to all Nevada residents via distance education) <u>https://www.csn.edu/programs/ophthalmic-tech</u>

Contact Lens dispensing portion:

- Contact Lens Society of America (CLSA) Contact Lens Manuals (home-study) <u>https://clsa.info/Bookstore.aspx</u> OR
- College of Southern Nevada (CSN) Contact Lens Technician Certificate Program (available to all Nevada residents via distance education) <u>https://www.csn.edu/programs/ophthalmic-tech</u>

## **Proof of Enrollment Requirement**

Apprentices must provide the board with proof of enrollment in one of the board-approved education programs listed above *within 6 months of being licensed*. Failure to do results in the apprentice's license being automatically inactivated. A license may only be reactivated at the discretion of the board.

## Hands-on (Practical) Spectacle and Contact Lens Training Requirements

Apprentices must complete 100 spectacle neutralizations and 100 hours of practical contact lens training. This training may be completed on the job or through the apprentice's school. Neutralizations and training hours must be documented on <u>forms provided by the Board</u>.

## **National Certification Requirements**

Apprentices must obtain: 1) The **Basic, Advanced, and Practical Certifications** of the **American Board of Opticianry (ABO)** and 2) The **Basic and Practical Certifications** of the **National Contact Lens Examiners (NCLE)**.

These certifications, along with a **Nevada Law and Ethics Exam**, are the final requirements an apprentice must meet to become a licensed Dispensing Optician. Apprentices are eligible to register for the ABO/NCLE exams at any time during their apprenticeships, though they must comply with any exam policies of the certifying organizations.

## **Other Requirements**

- **Supervision:** Each apprentice must have a supervisor of record on file with the board who works for the same employer and at the same location as the apprentice. Apprentices may only dispense prescription lenses when their supervisor of record or a licensed substitute supervisor is physically present to oversee their work. An optician with a Limited License (spectacles only) may not supervise an apprentice in the dispensing of contact lenses.
- Notifications: Apprentices must notify the Board of a *change of home/mailing address within* 30 days, a *change of employment location within 10 days*, and a *change of their supervisor of record within 10 business days*. A change of supervisor request must be accompanied by a new Apprentice Supervision Form. Apprentices may submit these notifications by logging in to their board-provided online accounts.
- **Yearly Renewal:** All apprentice licenses expire on January 31<sup>st</sup> every year and must be renewed on or before that date. Apprentices who allow their licenses to expire, or who are ineligible to renew their licenses because they did not complete their apprenticeship requirements within 3 renewal cycles, *may not obtain a new license for 12 months after the expiration of the license*.

## **Requests for Previous Experience Credit**

If you obtained optical experience or training prior to becoming an apprentice, or during a previous apprenticeship, you may submit a request for credit towards your on-the-job training requirements. <u>The Prior Experience Request Form</u> is available on our website.

## For Further Review

For more information on the laws and regulations governing your apprentice license, please visit the <u>About Us page</u> of our website to review **Chapter 637** of the **Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS)** and **Nevada Administrative Code (NAC)**, as well as our <u>FAQs page</u>. If you still have questions, please contact the board office at <u>info@nvopticians.org</u>.